IPL 10 auction: A round-up

Tags: IPL 2017, IPL 10, IPL, Benjamin Andrew Stokes, Indian Premier League 2017

Published on: Feb 20, 2017

The much-hyped auction for Indian Premier League 10 (IPL 10) was held on Monday.

The much-hyped auction for Indian Premier League 10 (IPL 10) was held on Monday. It was a bonanza for the English in a manner of speaking.

Dynamic all-rounder Ben Stokes became the most expensive overseas player ever bought during the auction. He was sold for Rs 14.5 crore Rising Pune Supergiants. Another English player, fast bowler Tymal Mills also enjoyed good fortune. He was the second biggest buy at this year's auction, having been purchased by Royal Challengers Bangalore in Bangalore for Rs 12 crore.

Staying with England, Chris Woakes went to Kolkata Knight Riders for Rs 4.2 crore. Three other England players bought. Three other England players went at their base price -- England captain Eoin Morgan for Rs 2 crore to Kings XI Punjab, opener Jason Roy for Rs 1 crore to Gujarat Lions, and paceman Chris Jordan for Rs 50 lakhs to Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Afghanistan players also made history by getting picked for the first time. All-rounder Mohammad Nabi, and 18-year-old legspinner Rashid Khan both got picked. Sunrisers Hyderabad purchased both, Rashid for Rs 4 crore and Nabi for Rs 30 lakh. UAE batsman Chirag Suri was taken by Gujarat Lions for Rs 10 lakh. These are the first associate players since Netherlands' Ryan ten Doeschate to get an IPL bid.

Delhi Daredevils purchased Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews for Rs 2 crore, New Zealand all-rounder Corey Anderson for Rs 1 crore, South Africa fast bowler Kagiso Rabada for Rs 5 crore and Australia fast bowler Pat Cummins for Rs 4.5 crore.

Kolkata Knight Riders bought New Zealand fast bowler Trent Boult for RS 5 crore. Nathan Coulter-Nile also went to KKR for Rs 3.5 crore.

Among Indians, Ishant Sharma, Irfan Pathan, Pragyan Ojha, Cheteshwar Pujara, Parvez Rasool and RP Singh were among the prominent names unsold. On the other hand, fast bowler Mohammad Siraj was purchased by Sunrisers for Rs 2.6 crore, left-arm seamer Aniket Choudhary by RCB for Rs 2 crore, K Gowtham by Mumbai for Rs 2 crore, T Natarajan by Kings XI for 3 crore, Karn Sharma by Mumbai for Rs 3.2 crore, Varun Aaron by Kings XI for Rs 2.8 crore and M Ashwin by Delhi for Rs 1 crore.

All-rounder Pawan Negi, who was gifted for Rs 8.5 crore by Delhi last year was taken by RCB for a comparatively lower Rs 1 crore.

Top 10 buys

Ben Stokes (Rising Pune Supergiants): Rs 14.50 crore

Tymal Mills (Royal Challengers Bangalore): Rs 12 crore

Trent Boult (Kolkata Knight Riders): Rs 5 crore

Kagiso Rabada (Delhi Daredevils): Rs 5 crore

Pat Cummins (Delhi Daredevils): Rs 4.5 crore

Chris Woakes (Kolkata Knight Riders): Rs 4.2 crore.

Rashid Khan Arman (Sunrisers Hyderabad): Rs 4 crore.

Nathan Coulter-Nile (Kolkata Knight Riders): Rs 3.5 crore

Karn Sharma (Mumbai Indians): Rs 3.2 crore

T Natarajan (Kings XI Punjab): Rs 3 crore

--By A Cricket Correspondent

Related News