No Virat Kohli again as India announce ODI squad for Zimbabwe series

Tags: India tour of Zimbabwe 2022, India, Zimbabwe

Published on: Jul 31, 2022

The Indian team for the three-match one-day series in Zimbabwe has been announced. Senior opener Shikhar Dhawan, who led Team India to a 3-0 whitewash in the West Indies, has been retained as captain for the games that will be played in Harare from August 18 to 22.

The big news is that out-of-form batter Virat Kohli has been rested yet again. He did not feature in the one-day series in West Indies and was not picked for the ongoing T20Is as well against the Caribbean. KL Rahul is also missing since he tested positive for COVID-19 a few days back.

The Indian selectors have also rested regular skipper Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah and Ravindra Jadeja. In some good news, all-rounders Washington Sundar and pacer Deepak Chahar have been picked in the 15-member squad announced for the Zimbabwe tour following their recovery from injury while in-form batter Rahul Tripathi has earned his maiden ODI call-up.

Both Washington and Chahar last turned out for India during the ODI series at home against West Indies in February this year. Chahar suffered a right quadriceps injury during the final T20I against West Indies and limped off the field. While recuperating at the NCA, he suffered a back injury as well, which meant he missed the entire IPL 2022.

As for Sundar, he injured his hand during IPL 2022. As a result, he was forced to miss the five-match T20I series against South Africa at home and wasn’t picked for the England tour as well. He has been impressive for Lancashire in the ongoing county season though.
A few days after the conclusion of the Zimbabwe tour, the Asia Cup T20 tournament will begin in the UAE on August 27.
India tour of Zimbabwe: Shikhar Dhawan (c), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohammed Siraj, Deepak Chahar
–By A Cricket Correspondent

Related News