Indian T20 Cricket 2019: Royals face a tougher challenge against Delhi

Tags: Indian T20 Cricket 2019, Rajasthan XI vs Delhi XI, 40th Match at Jaipur, Apr 22, 2019, Rajasthan XI, Delhi XI

Published on: Apr 22, 2019

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

A change in captaincy saw Rajasthan return to winning ways as Steve Smith's half-century led them to victory over Mumbai.

A change in captaincy saw Rajasthan return to winning ways as Steve Smith's half-century led them to victory over Mumbai . On the other hand, Delhi also overcame the challenge of Punjab, finally putting in a competitive performance at home. As such, both sides would be confident as they take on each other at Jaipur.

Despite the victory in the last match, Rajasthan would be desperate as they just have three wins from nine games. While they would want Smith to continue his great form, it is equally true that Jos Buttler would be missed. In addition, Ajinkya Rahane's form is also a matter of concern. Under present circumstances, Rahul Tripathi, who got a fifty against Punjab seems like a better bet.

Among others, Sanju Samson and Riyan Parag need to continue doing better with the bat. Rajasthan needs to show improvement with the ball as well. If you take away Jofra Archer and leggie Shreyas Gopal, the others have not really made much of an impression.

Delhi seem to be hitting some sort of form after some initial inconsistency. Shikhar Dhawan seems to be hitting his straps. He made a fluent 56 from 41 balls against Punjab while skipper Shreyas Iyer himself contributed an unbeaten 58. Prithvi Shaw and Rishabh Pant are also in impressive form.

Like Rajasthan, Delhi's bowling too has been a bit up and down. If you take away Kagiso Rabada, the others haven't been as consistent. Ishant Sharma, Sandeep Lamichhane and spinners Amit Mishra and Axar Patel do provide variety but better efforts are being expected of them.


Rajasthan Royals: Steve Smith(c),Ajinkya Rahane , Sanju Samson, Ben Stokes, Shubham Ranjane, Ashton Turner, Stuart Binny, Shreyas Gopal, Sudhesan Midhun, Jaydev Unadkat, Ish Sodhi, Prashant Chopra, Mahipal Lomror, Oshane Thomas, Aryaman Birla, Riyan Parag, Dhawal Kulkarni, Jofra Archer, Krishnappa Gowtham, Liam Livingstone, Varun Aaron, Jos Buttler, Shahshank Singh, Manan Vohra, Rahul Tripathi

Delhi Capitals: Shreyas Iyer (c), Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Rishabh Pant (WK), Colin Ingram, Keemo Paul, Axar Patel, Rahul Tewatia, Amit Mishra, Kagiso Rabada, Ishant Sharma, Hanuma Vihari, Ankush Bains, Chris Morris, Sherfane Rutherford, Jalaj Saxena, Sandeep Lamichhane, Trent Boult, Avesh Khan, Nathu Singh, Bandaru Ayyappa, Colin Munro, Manjot Kalra

--By A Cricket Correspondent

Related News