Cricket News sort by Sri Lanka tour of Australia 2012-13

Australia clinched a 137-run win in the opening Test at the Bellerive Oval in Hobart against the visiting Sri Lankans. In what was a rain-affected Test match, Australia managed to pull off victory despite losing the services of one of their frontline bowlers Ben Hilfenhaus through an injury.

Australia dismissed the Sri Lankans openers before close of play on Day 4 after having set a target of 393 to the visitors in the first Test at the Bellerive Oval in Hobart. Sri Lanka are 67 for 2 in 37 overs with Dilshan falling early to Watson for 11 and Karunaratne for 30 to Starc.

Peter Siddle claimed 5 for 54 as Australia took a big first innings lead of 114 runs in the First Test at Hobarth. The Aussies finished Day 3 at 27/0 having bowled out Sri Lanka for 336 in 109.3 overs.

On a rain-affected second day’s play, Australia took the match forward by declaring its first innings at 450 for 5 and then reducing the tourists to 87 for 4. The Lankans now have their backs to the walls having lost three of its experienced players...

Half centuries from the trio of Warner, Hughes and Clarke placed Australia in a comfortable position of 299 for 4 on the opening day’s play of the First Test at Hobart against Sri Lanka.

Sri Lanka have never won a Test in Australia, leave alone a series. As such, there wouldn’t be plenty of hopes from the island nation as they take on the Australians in Australia. In spite of their poor record though they should be disappointed if they do not put up a fighting show in their latest battle against the Aussies.

The first of the 3-match Test Series between Australia and Sri Lanka begins on Friday at the Bellerive Oval in Hobart. Australia after losing a hard-fought series against South Africa not so long ago will find it pretty easy against Sri Lanka, who have been poor visitors outside their island nation.

Sri Lanka Vs Cricket Australia Chairman's XI tour match Played at Manuka Oval, Canberra 6,7,8 December 2012,Cricket Australia Chairman's XI won the toss and elected to bat