Sangakkara, White fire DC to their second win of IPL 5

Tags: Indian Premier League - 2012, Deccan Chargers Vs Pune Warriors 42nd Match at Barabati Stadium, Cuttack - May 1, 2012, Kumar Chokshanada Sangakkara, Cameron Leon White, Sourav Chandidas Ganguly

Published on: May 01, 2012

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

DLF IPL 2012: Deccan Chargers defeated Pune Warriors by 13 runs in Match 42 at Barabati Stadium, Cuttack

Deccan Chargers picked up their second win of IPL 5 after defeating Pune Warriors at Cuttack. This was a second defeat for Pune Warriors in the hands of DC.

Chasing the high target of 187, Pune Warriors got a solid partnership for the second wicket between IPL debutant Michael Clarke and Sourav Ganguly. However, the pair did not score quickly enough to put pressure on their own team. Both Michael Clarke (41 from 31 balls with 7 fours) and Sourav Ganguly (45 from 40 balls with 5 fours and a six) departed in succession to leave Pune at 96 for 3 in 12.4 overs.

It was a herculean task for the rest of the batsmen to double up the total in the remaining overs and eventually Pune settled for 173 for 5. Steven Smith remained unbeaten on 47 (from 27 balls with 3 fours and 2 sixes) while Robin Uthappa contributed 26 from 18 balls. Pune’s failure in the run chase was mainly due to the slow batting from Ganguly!

Sangakkara, White power DC to 186 for 4

Deccan Chargers look good for their second win of the IPL 5 after posting a huge total of 186 for 4 at the Barabati Stadium in Cuttack in Match 42 against the Pune Warriors. After a sedate start of 58 for 2 in 10 overs, the Chargers went berserk in the final overs thanks to Cameron White and Kumar Sangakkara.

The 18th over bowled by Sourav Ganguly was taken for 25 runs and the penultimate over from Ashish Nehra also went for the same amount of runs. Deccan Chargers rocketed from a total of 130 for 2 to 180 for 3 in the space of two overs.

Skipper Kumar Sangakkara was the top scorer with 82 from 52 balls with 10 fours and 2 sixes. Cameron White smashed 74 from just 45 balls with 4 fours and 4 sixes. The Chargers had won the toss and elected to bat first with Skipper Kumar Sangakkara coming back in the playing XI replacing Daniel Christian.

Related News