Mohammed Shami named as Jasprit Bumrah’s replacement in India’s ICC Men’s T20 World Cup squad

Tags: ICC Mens T20 World Cup 2022, India, Mohammed Shami Ahmed

Published on: Oct 15, 2022

Veteran pacer Mohammed Shami has been named as Jasprit Bumrah’s replacement in Team India’s ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 squad. The same was announced by the BCCI via an official release.

The Indian cricket board’s statement read, "The All-India Senior Selection Committee has named Mohammed Shami as Jasprit Bumrah’s replacement in India’s ICC Men’s T20 World Cup squad. Shami has reached Australia and will link up with the squad in Brisbane ahead of the warm-up matches.”

On Friday, October 14, Shami posted pictures of him reaching Brisbane ahead of the T20 World Cup, which will be played from October 16 to November 13. Meanwhile, all-rounder Shardul Thakur and pacer Mohammed Siraj have been added as standby players to the extended T20 World Cup squad.

Siraj replaces Shami, who was earlier part of the standby list, while Thakur comes in since Deepak Chahar too has been ruled out of the T20 World Cup due to a back injury. The announcement of Bumrah’s replacement was delayed as Shami had to prove his fitness at the National Cricket Academy (NCA) in Bengaluru. He was ruled out of home T20I series against Australia and South Africa after testing positive for COVID-19.

Shami is likely to feature in India’s two warm-up matches against Australia on October 17 and New Zealand on October 19. They have so far played two warm-up matches against Western Australia. They won the first one by 13 runs, but lost the second one by 36 runs. Following the practice games, Team India will begin their T20 World Cup campaign by taking on Pakistan in Melbourne on October 23.

India squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Dinesh Karthik (wicket-keeper), Hardik Pandya, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammed Shami.

Standby Players: Mohammed Siraj, Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Shardul Thakur.

--By A Cricket Correspondent

Related News