Gayle, de Villiers power RCB to thrilling win Vs Pune Warriors

Tags: Indian Premier League - 2012, Rajasthan Royals Vs Deccan Chargers 20th Match at Jaipur - Apr 17, 2012, Royal Challengers Bangalore Vs Pune Warriors 21st Match at Bangalore - Apr 17, 2012, Abraham Benjamin de Villiers, Christopher Henry Gayle, Saurabh Sunil Tiwary, Robin Venu Uthappa

Published on: Apr 17, 2012

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

DLF IPL 2012: Royal Challengers Bangalore defeated Pune Warriors by 6 wickets in Match 21 at M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore

Hosts RCB clinched a last ball thriller over Pune Warriors which was set up beautifully by a whirlwind knock by Chris Gayle. Chasing 183 from 20 overs, the match turned on its head when Chris Gayle took leggie Rahul Sharma for five sixes in a row in the 13th over! Just when it was raining sixes from Gayle, a yorker from Ashish Nehra cut short his innings. Gayle settled for a score of 81 which came in 48 balls with 4 fours and 8 sixes.

Chris GayleThe Pune Warriors fought their way back after Gayle was dismissed with RCB at 127 for 4 in 15.4 overs. The pair of Saurabh Tiwary and AB de Villiers was left with the near impossible task of getting 21 runs off the final over to be bowled by Ashish Nehra. The first ball was just a single and the second ball was somehow a boundary in an attempted paddle scoop from AB de Villiers. The third ball disappeared over long on for a six to make it 10 runs from 3 balls. AB de Villiers swept the fourth ball all the way over fine leg for a stunning six but in the very next ball lost the strike with a single to mid wicket. That left Saurabh Tiwary a tough equation of finding 3 runs from the final ball off the match! Tiwary held his nerve and smashed Nehra to the right of long on for a boundary to clinch the victory!

Saurabh Tiwary got 36* from 23 balls with a four and 2 sixes while AB de Villiers played a blinder with 33* from 14 balls with 2 fours and 3 sixes. The Man of the Match award went to Chris Gayle for his destructive knock.

Pune Warriors reach competitive total of 182 for 6

Pune Warriors reached a competitive total of 182 for 6 at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore against hosts RCB. A strong start of 63 in 7 overs from openers Jesse Ryder (34 from 22 balls with 4 fours and a six) and Robin Uthappa (69 from 45 balls with 9 fours and 2 sixes) laid the foundation for the visitors.

Marlon Samuels scored a crucial 34 from 20 balls with a four and a couple of sixes to provide the Warriors with the finishing touches. Pune Warriors may not have got too many runs towards the end on a pitch that looks perfect for batting but they have got the bowling attack to defend the total of 182.

Toss and Teams: Pune Warriors have won the toss and elected to bat first against hosts Royal Challengers Bangalore at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore. Tillakaratne Dilshan will get his first match of IPL 5 for the Royal Challengers Bangalore. Muttiah Muralitharan has been rested by the RCB.

Related News