Negi, Sehwag star in Delhi Daredevils' grand win over Rajasthan Royals

Tags: Indian Premier League - 2012, Rajasthan Royals Vs Delhi Daredevils 43rd Match at Jaipur - May 1, 2012, Virender Sehwag, Pawan Negi, Rahul Sharad Dravid

Published on: May 01, 2012

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

DLF IPL 2012: Rajasthan Royals lost to Delhi Daredevils by 6 wickets in Match 43 at Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur

A strong all-round performance at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium from Delhi Daredevils carried them to their eight victory in the DLF IPL 2012 in 10 matches. Delhi Daredevils crushed hosts Rajasthan Royals by a margin of six wickets with as many as 28 balls to spare.

Skipper Virender Sehwag struck a fifth consecutive half century in the IPL to help his side cruise through to a modest target of 142. Sehwag smashed 73 from just 38 balls with 12 fours and a six before he got out with his side within striking distance of the target. The Delhi Skipper got solid support from Kevin Pietersen, who scored 36 (from 34 balls with 3 fours and a six) in what is his last match of this IPL season. Thanks to Sehwag’s knock, Daredevils got to the target in just 15.2 overs.

Virender Sehwag smashed 73 from just 38 ballsRajasthan Royals would have put up a much bigger total than 141 for 6! At one stage, the hosts got off to a rocking start from Ajinkya Rahane (42 from 32 balls with 7 fours) with Rahul Dravid. From 71 for 1 in 8.4 overs, Rajasthan Royals slipped to 95 for 5 in 13 overs losing the wickets of its three big overseas stars. Skipper Rahul Dravid who opened the batting had to play the role of a sheet anchor towards the end. He got out in the 19th over after scoring 57 from 43 balls with 7 fours.

Left arm spinner Pawan Negi produced his best figures of the IPL with 4 for 18 in 4 overs. Fast bowlers Morne Morkel and Umesh Yadav did well to sustain the pressure as the Rajasthan Royals settled for just 141 runs on the board.

Toss and Teams: Hosts Rajasthan Royals have won the toss and elected to bat first against Delhi Daredevils at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium. The big news is that Rajasthan Royals are playing Shane Watson who gets his first game of IPL 5. Watson replaces Kevon Cooper who had fractured his right knee.

Delhi Daredevils: Virender Sehwag (Captain), Mahela Jayawardene, Kevin Pietersen, Ross Taylor, Yogesh Nagar, Irfan Pathan, Naman Ojha (Wicket Keeper), Morne Morkel, Pawan Negi, Umesh Yadav, Shahbaz Nadeem

Rajasthan Royals: Rahul Dravid (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Shane Watson, Owais Shah, Brad Hodge, Shreevats Goswami (Wicket Keeper), Ashok Menaria, Brad Hogg, Ankeet Chavan, Amit Singh, Pankaj Singh

Related News